Reminiscing: Wedding Guest Photos

A week and a half out from our wedding, we’re in the “dead zone” as far as our professional wedding photography and videography is concerned. We should see a preview of our professional pics in about a week but it will be another SIX weeks before we see our wedding videography – we knew it would take that long (our videographer is in high demand!) and so it’s an exercise in patience. I keep going back and looking at the photos that our guests took and reminiscing on the fabulous time we had.

Despite my active participation in the Instagram community, I did not want our ceremony to become a social media frenzy. We attended a wedding in March in which a woman was standing IN the aisle taking a photo of the groomsmen as the bridesmaids were walking down. I was horrified and did not want our wedding to be the same – the focus to me was on the sanctity of the occasion and we already had two photographers and a videographer trying to get the shots without a million flashes going off. To solve that problem, we had the following phrase in our programmes:

We invite you to be truly present at this special time. Please, turn off your cell phones and put down your cameras. The photographer will capture how this moment looks — we encourage you all to capture how it feels with your hearts, without the distraction of technology.

I’ve found this wording in several places around the web, most commonly attributed to Offbeat Bride. While it didn’t stop everyone taking pics during the service, people were vastly more subtle about it and that really was the result I wanted. No bright flashes in my face! Before and after the ceremony, people were welcome to go crazy with the photography and there are some truly awesome photos.

Some of my favorites:

Gosh, looking at those photos it is hard to keep my patience! It will be so exciting to see those professional shots!!

 

2 thoughts on “Reminiscing: Wedding Guest Photos

  1. I think that’s a really good idea asking people to refrain from taking photos. While I don’t mind photos on their cameras/phones…it’s more that I wouldn’t want the quick upload to fb or instagram etc! I want to be able to share those moments when I am ready myself!! Great idea, can’t wait to see your official pics, looks like such a great day xx

  2. Pingback: Welcome to “A Merry Life” readers! | Sweet Mama M

Comments are closed.