I Read A Lot: “The Happiness Project” and “Treasure Yourself”

I’m renowned as a book nerd by those that know me best. I Read A Lot is a semi-regular feature on the blog in which I share with you what I currently have my nose buried in.

After reading Wednesday’s post, it should come as no surprise that the two books I am dedicating the most time to reading at the moment (and I’m sure that Papa M is loving the glow of the iPad as he gets to sleep, as that seems to be the only time I’m fitting it in) are about creating happiness and joy within your life. And who wouldn’t want to feel happier and more treasured?

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

I know I’m a little late to the party on reading this book – it was first published at the end of 2009, but as Ms. Rubin (and many other authors) have identified before, when the student is ready the teacher will appear. The book is structured into chapters by the months of her project, each month having a different focus on areas of her life into which she could bring more happiness. She sets herself resolutions for each month and provides detailed examples of how she implemented these in her own life.

I think the teacher in me likes these detailed records. It’s easy to say “Stop Nagging” but what does that actually look like? What does “letting go” look like? Having these exemplars, even if not all of them are relevant to my personal circumstances, gives me a way that I could actually implement this into my own life. I’m quite excited to complete the book and get started on some of my own resolutions to make my life a “happier” journey.

Treasure Yourself by Miranda Kerr

I was really intrigued by this book. After hearing a few bloggers rave about it, as well as being quite fascinated by Ms Kerr’s earth-mother persona, I figured that it was worth downloading onto my Kindle app. By the way, cannot say enough positive things about the Kindle app for iPad, possibly the most negative thing is the damage it is doing to our credit card! Books on tap? Yes please. Anyway, I digress. The book has chapters that largely appear to be stream-of-consciousness essays, both taling about Ms. Kerr’s experiences in her life journey and the philosophies she tries to live by.

I’m finding this book harder to get into. I think that if I was in a more serene, zen place in my life these essays would be easier to follow. I feel like that I am always wondering when each chapter is going to “get to the point”, an issue with patience that I also have when interacting with the world at the moment. Am I not enlightened enough to enjoy this book? I am willing to give it another whirl in the upcoming school break, where I’m hoping to retain a more peaceful state of mind.

* * *

I’m handing it over to you, have you read any books recently that help you to embrace the brighter side of life?

4 thoughts on “I Read A Lot: “The Happiness Project” and “Treasure Yourself”

  1. I just read the happiness project as well, and have embarked upon my own (cuhappinessproject.wordpress.com)! I absolutely love the way I can identify with Gretchen just by the way she writes – it’s very down-to-earth and personable.

    On the other end of the spectrum of happiness books, I’m also dying to try “The antidote: Happiness for people who can’t stand positive thinking” by Martin Seligman. Have you read it?

    Good luck with your resolutions! I’ll have to go find Treasure Yourself in a library now!

  2. I’ve just finished reading the happiness project recently as well and found it really good but something in it didn’t grab me, perhaps it wasn’t quiet the right timing for me but now I’m reading No Opportunity Wasted by Phil Keoghan and can’t put it down, it’s setting alarm bells off in my head that’s for sure 🙂

  3. I got 29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life – out the AKL library a bit quirky. It has calmed my erratic thoughts and helped me see I actually have it pretty damn good

Comments are closed.