Time Squish

I thought I was going to die on Sunday.

Okay, that’s a mild exaggeration. After a year of excellent health (the only debilitating moment being a migraine in the April school holidays), I crashed and burnt well and truly. After feeling grotty and lethargic the last week of term, Saturday saw infection erupt inside of me and by Sunday I felt awful! Couldn’t swallow, fever and chills, glands so swollen it barely looked like I had a neck! Papa M came home early from work on Monday to take me to the doctors – diagnosis? Bacterial infection of the tonsils – almost to the point of abscess. When I do it, I do it well!

Most of this week has therefore been spent in bed (or couch-bed) trying to recuperate. While I know that this is, in essence, what having a break from work is all about – relaxation, peace, winding down – I can’t help but feel annoyed with my body for letting me down. I had planned to get so much done this break and now I’m feeling squished. How do I fit in all the planning/marking from work with all my social obligations as well? The days of rest have now made me feel like I need to squish everything else into the remaining 9 1/2 days. How am I going to do it?

I’m going with the motto (that I’ve discovered attributed to Richard Cech):

The shortest way to do many things is to do only one thing at a time.

I need to ignore the rest of the tasks and focus on just one at a time to avoid the panicked squishy feeling. If I just focus on ticking off one thing on my list at a time, I know I’ll get there in the end!

One thought on “Time Squish

Comments are closed.