Makes & Bakes: A proper British scone!

Our “Ladies Who Dine” evening has come around again and the theme this month is British food! Whenever I think of British food I think of a delicious Devonshire tea – so that’s what I’m making for the dessert. After scouring the internet and collating a few ideas, this is the recipe I’ve come up with – I hope you love it!

Sweet Mama M’s Devonshire-style Scones

  • 450g self-raising flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 75g butter
  • 50g sugar – I ended up using brown (see below)
  • 2 large eggs
  • about 225mls of milk

1. Pre-heat the oven to 220°C. I placed baking paper down on my baking sheet, although some recipes say to grease the sheet and I would imagine that this would give your scones a crispy, rather than cakey, bottom.

2.Weigh out your ingredients. One of my favourite discussions at my first Made From Scratch baking class was about baking being more of a science than cooking – a lot of rising, etc, relies on chemical reaction – and that makes the proportions of your ingredients much more important. I use some little bowls and a set of scales and it makes it pretty easy to chuck it all in at the right time.

 

 

Here’s where I tell you that I’d started panicking when weighing out ingredients. Despite putting caster sugar in our trolley (and paying for it), when we got home there was no caster sugar! I decided to use soft brown sugar and, just prior to adding it in to the dry mix, ground the granules against the side of the bowl with a fork. It worked well!

3. Place flour and baking powder together in a large mixing bowl. Add in butter, rubbing it in with your hands until you have what looks like a whole bunch of little bread crumbs. Add in that sugar – whatever sugar you choose.

4. In a separate measuring jug measure out your milk. Break your eggs into a separate bowl (just to check they’re good) and add them in with your milk – mix those suckers together with a whisk or a fork until they’re combined.

5. Slowly add in the wet ingredients into the dry, making sure that you reserve about 30mls of the liquid to glaze the top of your scones later. Mix together until the ingredients are fully combined and you have a doughy mixture.

6. Sprinkle flour on your prep surface and smack that dough on down there. I picked mine up and smacked it down a couple of times for good measure but I think I just needed the stress relief! Roll it out or smush it out using your hands until it’s about an inch thick.

7. Grab a cookie cutter and start cutting out the scones – I used a flower shaped cookie cutter for cute shapes, a fluted cookie cutter would give a more traditional shape & you could make hearts for a romantic occasion. Pop them on your baking tray as you go and smash together your dough remnants until all the dough is used.

8. Using a pastry brush, brush the tops of your scones with the remaining liquid. Pop your scones in the afternoon for ten minutes, or until the tops are nice and golden brown. And you’re done!

To make it a proper Devonshire-style scone, serve with berry jam, whipped cream and nice cup of tea. Oh, and in case you were wondering, the brown sugar substitution was delicious and gave the scones and ever-so-slight toffee flavour!

Relax and enjoy the fruits of your labour!

2 thoughts on “Makes & Bakes: A proper British scone!

Comments are closed.