M is for Mama: And N is for Natural Cosmetics…

Note: This is not a sponsored post, these are just things that I am currently experimenting with and having positive results!

One of the things on my baby “pre-mester” list of things to do is to phase in more natural cosmetics brands. I am concerned about the level of ingredients in my products with names I can’t even pronounce and worry that using these products is putting me at higher risk of illnesses like cancer. I’m not going to turn into some “crunchy” hippy mama, and lord knows I love a pork chop way too much to ever become a vegetarian, but why not make the changes that you feel you can? These are the changes that I’m in the process of making:

The Body Shop Shower Gel for Earth Lovers:

This stuff smells amazing. I first picked up a bottle of this in Whitianga, where I’d been under the false assumption that our accommodation provided toiletries. One whiff of the Pear and Lemongrass scent had me sold – delicious enough to eat, while not being overwhelmingly fruity. I love the fact that one bottle of this seems to last me a LONG time – you only need a little bit on a loofah and it froths up nicely for a lovely clean. It’s soap-free, which means my sensitive skin is loving it, and it doesn’t contain any sulfates, parabens or colorants, also known as the unnecessary nasties! You can check out more information about this product on The Body Shop website.

 

Addiction Minerals Cosmetics:

I’ve spoken about this before, but I’ve recently made the decision to move away from the major, more synthetic brands of cosmetics and start overhauling them with this new range of cosmetics. I’m loving the fact that, despite it being a natural range, they offer really bold colours and are competitively priced with other leading brands. The fact that they truly cover the whole range of cosmetics means that it’s very easy to keep feeding your addiction (pun totally intended). This makeup is free from a whole bunch of things that you would never expect to be in mineral foundations (but can be found in some brands)  and doesn’t rely on fillers like talc – moral of the story, check the ingredients! Addiction Minerals is cruelty free, hypo-allergenic (preservative and fragrance free, certified Vegan & free of parabens, bismuth oxychloride & nano-particulates. Find out more about stockists here!

 

Weleda Wild Rose range:

I first came into contact with the Weleda products in my previous life as a brand manager (dealing with organic food products) and the products intrigued me. Weleda is not just a skin care range, they are a natural health company with a significant catalogue of homeopathic and herbal remedies and they also have a very strong mother and baby range. Sadly, my Iris days have passed and I now qualify for the Wild Rose range, suitable for first lines! I’m very keen to try the Smoothing Masque and I love the fact that when I look at the ingredients, I actually understand what most of them are! In NZ, we’re superlucky to have access to a wide range of natural skin care but the scent of this one is what I’m loving at the moment. Check out all of the Weleda skin care ranges here, including Almond which is fragrance free for sensitive skin!

One thing I’m yet to find, dear readers, is a good natural (or as close to) deodorant! Do you know of a good brand? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “M is for Mama: And N is for Natural Cosmetics…

  1. I definitely have crunchy hippy mama leanings! I’ve been using more natural products for a while now. My favourite brands are Weleda and Sukin – I buy through the Health Post website (NZ based). That’s where I get my natural deodorant from – it’s Weleda, the citrus one. I also like Biologika Evening Bliss deodorant, but it can be a bit hard to track down!

Comments are closed.