Creating Magic: 2013 Inspiration – Part 1

Over the course of January I’ll be posting some of the things that are inspiring my mindset for 2013. Today, a quote:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

– Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love (1992)

How often do we hide our light under a bushel? Brush off the compliment, not acknowledge the hard work that we’ve put into a task? Too often I hear the words coming out of my mouth – “Oh, this top? I’ve had it for ages”, “Oh, just lucky, I guess”, “It was nothing”. We’re too scared to say that we’re awesome, that we did the hard yards, that we deserve it. I’ve been playing small for far too long.

In 2013 I will…let my own light shine and embrace my power.

Will you?

SweetMama Signature

2 thoughts on “Creating Magic: 2013 Inspiration – Part 1

  1. Good for you! Treat yourself the way you deserve to be treated 🙂
    I always play stuff down. I should also be inspired to embrace my achievements more – thanks for the reminder xx

  2. I think its instinctive to play stuff down a little but your right, there is no need! Accept compliments and acknowledge your awesomeness I reckon 😉

Comments are closed.