Creating Magic: 2013 Inspiration – Part 2

During the month of January I’m sharing my inspiration for 2013 – my lights on the pathway of life, so to speak.

I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.

– Groucho Marx

Going on honeymoon and unwinding really just reinforced how badly I had let stress pile up on me coming into the end of the year. I think it was a major part of why I had a 75-day-long cycle (over twice as long as my usual cycles) in November/December/January – yup, it was that long. Pretty annoying when you are trying to get pregnant – the amount of sticks I had to pee on so that I knew it would be safe to drink during the holiday season was a cost I would rather have done without.

When I’m letting myself feel that stressed about situations – so stressed that it starts to have a physical effect – I know I need to do something about it. I can’t change the fact that work is full on, I certainly can’t change the fact that at the moment we rely on the income I earn from it to achieve our financial goals, all I can influence is the way that I respond to it.

I’m using this time that I have before the school year begins to meditate on processes I can put in place to manage workload, and not let it manage me. I feel that if I am doing genuinely the best I can in the time that I choose to allot to work, it will be easier to shrug the rest of the stress of my shoulders. I also will use the last part of the quote as a bit of a mantra when I feel that stressful feeling welling up inside me – “I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it”.

Are you like me, letting events rule you rather than ruling those events yourself? Have you managed to overcome?

SweetMama Signature

