Eeeeeeee… we’re going…

to Melbourne! Now be honest, how many of you thought I was going to say “… to have a baby!”. Unfortunately no news on that front yet. With that in mind, we’ve been really hoping to head over to Melbourne and tick another city/country off our bucket list. I seem to have done everything back-to-front, travelling to America when I was a kid yet not travelling to Australia until I was almost thirty! I’ve been constantly eyeballing flight prices and when Air New Zealand had a 24-hour-sale, saving us almost $400 in the process, we knew we had to jump on it. Leave was urgently requested, bank accounts were jiggled around and flights were booked!

We’ll be staying south of the city centre with my aunt, making accommodation very easy for us. Papa M is particularly looking forward to having a proper nosey around; he’s been to Melbourne before for business but not really had a chance to make it out of Tullamarine. As for me, I’m excited about the food and the shopping! We’re both newbies when it comes to exploring Melbourne though, so any tips on what we should and shouldn’t see are most welcome!

Have you been to Melbourne? What are your “must sees”?

2 thoughts on “Eeeeeeee… we’re going…

  1. OMFG The FOOD!!! So many little cafes and eateries!!!!!!!!!!! So affordable and yummy!!! 🙂 I last went when I was pregnant – we walked everywhere!! I was so exhausted, but it was great! Good shopping on Bridge Street in Richmond (a suburb you can reach by tram). You can do a tour of the sports museum or the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). There’s the Victoria Street Markets. I just love all of it, to be honest. We’ve done touristy things and local people things – so fun xo

  2. Hey chick

    Agree with the above ….Best places to go are:
    1. Bridge Road (drop Papa M off at a pub at the start of the road…and make your way though each shop)
    2. Queen Victoria Markets – only thing good here is the food…but it’s better than good it’s incredible and all local
    3. Lygon Street – Packed with fantastic Italian restaurants all wanting to give you the best deal to get you in the door…Papa M will love the cars parked down this street too Italian wealth at it’s best!

    Enjoy

Comments are closed.