Makes & Bakes: Kiwi Tiramisu Log

Tiramisu

When going through my coffee table one nap time on an organizational binge, I came across a recipe that I had noted down from the New Zealand Woman’s Weekly many many moons ago and promptly forgotten about. I had my first coffee group hosting coming up (thankfully for my smaller coffee group of six, our wee lounge isn’t designed for the larger group) and decided to give it a whirl! It was super-easy to make and a delicious success so I thought I would share my slightly altered recipe with you all!

Kiwi Tiramisu Log

  • 300 mls cream
  • 2 heaped tablespoons icing sugar
  • 300g mascarpone
  • 1 and 1/4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 250-280g of Griffins Cookie Bear Chocolate Chippies – around 25 to 28 biscuits or about a pack and one third. If you are outside New Zealand, you can substitute any thin chocolate chip cookie.
  • 1/2 cup of strong black coffee, chilled
  • grated dark chocolate to taste (I used Whittakers)

Instructions:

  1. Whip cream and icing sugar together until thick.
  2. Mix in marscapone and vanilla extract – I used the electric whisk for this also because I wanted the marscapone to be completely incorporated. You will see the mixture get noticeably stickier and form rigid peaks.
  3. Spread a thin layer of mixture on your serving dish; this will enable you to anchor your cookies.
  4. Dip each chocolate chip biscuit into the coffee – long enough to soak in the flavor but not so long that it is disintegrating. Spread mixture on each cookie and place on edge on the platter, creating a sandwich with the previous cookie until you have used all the biscuits. You will end up with a basic log shape.
  5. Using the remainder of the mixture, liberally coat the outside of the log until all the biscuits are covered. Coat to taste with grated dark chocolate.
  6. Let this set in the fridge for several hours (mine set overnight) before serving.
  7. Slice and enjoy!

Scrumptious and a little more-ish with little more than half an hour prep time. If I wanted to make this a little naughtier, I would think of adding a couple of tablespoons of brandy, honeyed rum or coffee liqueur to the cream coating but that’s not ideal for morning tea and a whole bunch of breastfeeding mamas. Let me know if you try that though!

This recipe has been submitted to the Sweet New Zealand monthly blogging event over at Move Love Eat, a neat (and delicious) way to get to know other New Zealand and ex-pat bloggers!

SweetNZ

SweetMama Signature

 

2 thoughts on “Makes & Bakes: Kiwi Tiramisu Log

  1. Pingback: Sweet NZ #35 Wrap-up | Move Love Eat

Comments are closed.