Getting back on the (healthy) horse: Introduction

IMG_0790

It’s that time of year where you see all the headlines coming out: “Get in shape for summer!” “Four weeks to that perfect summer body” “Look hot on the beach in just ten days” “Are you bikini bod ready?”. This article is not one of those. I’ve struggled with my weight long enough to know that weight loss is a journey, not a race to a finish line that is mere months away. And quite frankly, anyone who has a body can be bikini bod ready, that’s far more about confidence than your weight, shape or size.

About three years ago I lost 15kgs, bringing me within 10kgs of my goal weight. On my wedding day I was the skinniest I had been in years and I felt great! The picture above was taken on our mini-moon – as you can see, I still wasn’t what one would call slim but I felt really good about myself and my health. Dealing with the fall out of my mother’s passing and fertility issues saw me gain back 7kg – not ideal, but I still felt healthy in body and chose to focus on my mental health first.

While pregnant I enjoyed (for the first time in a very long time) eating whatever I wanted without consequence. I was very slow to gain weight and overall only gained the recommendation of 8-12kg. Three weeks after CJ was born I was down to my pre-pregnancy weight. With our rough start to breastfeeding, I was very concerned about maintaining supply so was chugging back Complan smoothies. I also had an insatiable sweet tooth for the first time in my life and really struggled to get out and exercise for the first three months or so of CJ’s life. All this added up to gaining back around 5kgs of that pregnancy weight, something I was less than happy about.

I no longer have to worry about maintaining supply and that sweet tooth craving largely vanished with the end of our breastfeeding relationship. Better weather means that it’s easier to get outdoors and exercise – I can’t justify a gym membership and crèche fees while I’m not working – and CJ being that little bit older makes me happier to take him out on days that are not so nice.

So here’s the deal:
Over the next year, you’ll see a few posts pop up dealing with my journey back to my goal weight. I’m not going to share the number because my number at 5’10” with solid build may be different to your number, but it’s a goal of 25kgs in a year – a sustainable loss of around 500g a week. No fad diets here, I’m still a foodie at heart. There’ll still be posts on dining out because that’s inherently part of who I am. It’s just about being smarter and working out a little harder, eventually getting to the healthy weight that ensures CJ has his mum around as long as possible.

SweetMama Signature

8 thoughts on “Getting back on the (healthy) horse: Introduction

    • I totally think it’s a matter of being in the right head space. It’s taken me a month to commit to this and be willing to make it public!

    • Thanks Amanda! If there’s one thing I’ve learnt last time it’s that slow and steady is the way to go!

  1. Good luck! I’ve been on my own weight loss journey this past year, after years of yo-yo dieting and dealing with emotional eating. It’s still been a bumpy journey but I’m at my lowest weight I’ve been since before I turned 20 (6.5 years ago). My greatest success secret was cutting out sugar and as many carbs as I could. It’s been hard because I’m sure I was addicted to sugar, but now I can’t drink sugary drinks or eat milk chocolate without feeling sick! Can’t wait to see all your updates as you go along. If you are ever struggling or need someone to talk to, I’m always happy to listen 🙂

    • Thanks Katie! For me it’s just keeping a better track of what I eat. I swear sometimes I have food amnesia! That and not boredom eating, with being at home all day.

  2. Looking forward to supporting you on your journey hun! No doubt CJ is going to keep you on your toes soon, which is going to be an awesome addition to the exercise regime you are starting!

  3. Pingback: Getting back on the (healthy) horse: Jan 2015 update | Sweet Mama M

Comments are closed.