I Read A Lot: Favourite Childhood Books (Age 0-5)

I’m renowned as a book nerd by those that know me best. I Read A Lot is a semi-regular feature on the blog in which I share with you what I currently have my nose buried in (or in this case what I used to have my nose buried in).

One of the reasons I love books is because I lived in a house where reading was so widely encouraged. We read to CJ now as a way to wind him down before each nap, and of course we have the now traditional Very Hungry Caterpillar before his night time sleep. I know that it might not always be this way – as a high school teacher we often come across the aliterate boy (one that can read, but just doesn’t) but I hope that by doing encouraging him while young, we build positive habits for a lifetime.

CJ is already blessed with a little library (including a fabulous Hairy McLairy compendium that  his Poppa bought him for Christmas) but here’s a few more books I loved as a kid and would love to add into his collection:

The Tiger Who Came To Tea by Judith Kerr

The_Tiger_who_came_to_tea

The doorbell rings just as Sophie and her mummy are sitting down to tea. Who could it possibly be? What they certainly don’t expect to see at the door is a big furry, stripy tiger! I loved the comic contrast of  the formality of the tea and the crazy tiger.

Dear Zoo by Rod Campbell

DearZoo

What kind of pet would you like from the zoo? An elephant, a lion, a snake – or something a bit smaller, and cuddlier and playful? Lift the flaps and see what has been sent – it’s bound to be a surprise! And just when you think they’ll never get it right, they send the very best, most perfect pet of all. I think that CJ will LOVE all the animals in the book.

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Where_The_Wild_Things_Are_(book)_cover

When Max puts on his wolf suit and makes mischief, his mother calls him ‘Wild Thing’ and sends him to bed without any supper. Alone in his room, Max enters a magical world and sets sail across the sea to the place where the wild things are. I think this will be a great book for my cheeky, active boy!

Noisy Nora by Rosemary Wells

NoisyNora

It’s tough being the middle mouse. Nora’s baby brother and older sister require a lot of attention, and Nora always has to wait. It isn’t until Nora crashes out the door, and the house goes strangely silent, that her family realizes: a noisy Nora is much better than no Nora at all! I wasn’t the “middle mouse” but being one of three siblings, could definitely sympathize with the waiting for attention!

Horton Hatches The Egg by Dr Seuss

Horton_hatches_the_egg

While I’m sure the elephant-loving CJ would love any Horton books, this was a particular favorite of mine from my childhood. Something about an elephant nesting is just hilarious to both the characters of the book and kid readers alike.

If you have a favorite childhood book other than those above, I’d love to know!

SweetMama Signature

8 thoughts on “I Read A Lot: Favourite Childhood Books (Age 0-5)

    • Thanks for the follow hun! Hope you like it here. I also post mini-posts on FB on days I don’t post here 🙂

  1. Aw! This is such a sweet post and brings back many fond memories of my parents reading picture books to me..ngaaw. I used to really enjoy Horton Hatches the Egg, I actually think I had the story on a VHS tape!

  2. The Little Mister loves books where he can chant along. Gotta love the Aussie classic Wombat Stew.
    Now he’s started to become obsessed with books based on his favourite TV characters, but I am still glad it has him obsessed with reading (or being read to).

  3. I loved all of these books, especially Where The Wild Things Are! My other childhood faves from when I was a littlie include The Berenstain Bears books, Robert The Rose Horse and The Digging-est Dog

Comments are closed.