Getting back on the (healthy) horse: Jan 2015 update

In November I shared with you my desire to lose 25kg in the next year. I broke this down as needing to lose about 500g a week to reach my goal. 10 weeks later?

I’ve lost 1 kg.

I could blame Christmas. I could certainly blame the heat. In sweltering weather and this no-ozone layer sun, I’m a little phobic about spending too much time outdoors in the middle of the day. But the reality? I simply haven’t made it a priority. I feel like I’m less fit now than I was when I made that first post. Last Wednesday I went on an adventure with Corrine from Frock & Roll and carrying CJ (around 9kg) up this hill damn near killed me. I was so puffed.

Hill

This article (also found by the lovely Corrine) really struck home. People who really want something will make it a priority and achieve it. Where we focus our attention is where we grow in abundance. I haven’t been making it a priority – that Christmas potato salad had been calling my name – so why would I expect thing to change? A conversation with a pregnant friend just last weekend made me realize how important it is to me to lose this weight before we even consider adding to our family… and with knocking on the door of 30, time is not on my side.

What I’ve decided is that I need some actionable steps – the good old SMART goal setting programme. For the next month, I will:

  • meal plan each week to avoid starchy easy-prep meals
  • avoid soft drink unless using it as a replacement for alcohol in a social situation
  • get active four times a week at least, even if it means going for early-morning/late-night walks when the temperature dips and Papa M is home.

I know that this is just the tip of the proverbial iceberg but I’m feeling more confident about actually making some movement with this goal. Each month I’ll be able to add in more positive habits and build towards the healthy lifestyle I imagined I would build. I know that it won’t happen overnight but I definitely hope that next month I have something more positive to report! 

If there’s any habits that helped you, I’d love to hear it in the comments below.

SweetMama Signature

6 thoughts on “Getting back on the (healthy) horse: Jan 2015 update

  1. You’re one of the most determined achievers I know, so I have no doubt that you’ll kick this goal’s butt, too!

    It can be total torture (seriously), but something that I’ve been finding useful is allotting a certain portion of money to basic groceries a week, and then throwing what’s leftover into savings. This way, even if I WANT to sneak down the road and buy an ice cream, I can’t! (I *really* loathe myself for doing this when I have crazy chocolate cravings, but at the end of the day, it’s a win for both my wallet AND my weight!)

  2. You know what? I am glad you posted about this. I think it speaks volumes for your character that you’re holding yourself accountable. You’ll be back on the wagon, better than ever – just don’t be TOO hard on yourself – Christmas is a bit of a killer!!
    I have lost about 1.5kg over like two months. Not much progress but I feel glad I still lost some weight – now 2015 is kicking in, we can all get into a routine. I look forward to your inspiring updates xoxo

  3. I find it a lot easier if there’s no junk food in the house. I’ve had to restrict my diet pre-wedding && I’ve found it surprisingly easy! So here are some things that work for me:
    1 – I’ve cut dairy, carbs/sugars & root veg. I have bacon & eggs for breakfast or chia pudding made with nuts & coconut milk/water & a littl fruit, prep vege sticks as snacks, have BBQ & salad for dinner or a stirfry type concoction without any rice && it’s worked!
    2 – Prep is key!!
    3 – It’s about finding things that you CAN do, not cutting things out & forcing yourself to do things you don’t enjoy. If you feel like you’re going without then that encourages binges & “cheat days”.
    4 – If you’re out, spend a little more buying the healthier option because you’ll feel better for it.
    5 – Some movement is better than no movement.
    6 – Serve dinner on side plates, stomachs are surprisingly not that big. You can try checking the “serving size” on packets to get an idea of how much to eat.
    7 – Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. It’s critical that you don’t feel like you’re ‘missing out’, sometimes I’d love to have chips & sometimes – I have them! 😀 but I know that I feel really good when the scales register a bit lighter & I feel great when the exercises that hurt last week don’t hurt so much this week. It gets easier to make healthy food decisions the more you make them ❤
    You'll be great! xx

Comments are closed.