My Birthday Wish List…

WishlistSpaTreatment

I can hardly fathom it, but this weekend I turn 30! It’s the type of age that always seems old when you are young but now that I’m there I feel barely mature enough to be part of the 30s club! Just goes to show that our parents were never as grown-up as we thought they were anyway.

I sat down to write this wish list and while there are a few material things I want (leopard print Toms, vouchers to revamp my wardrobe, a spa treatment like above, a new computer so I don’t feel like smashing this one into a wall), there is really nothing material that I need. What a blessed place to be! That said, there are some things that I’m hoping to get this year!

Me time

I’m very guilty of taking on lots of different things at once – I’m terrible at saying no. I still make an effort to be a good wife and good mother and so that inevitably means that I’m the one that misses out. I’m hoping to become more judicious with how I use my “yeses”. With this move reducing Papa M’s commute, I’m also hoping to reclaim some of the evenings for my own personal project time. Which leads me to…

Fit and healthy

I know I sound like a broken record but this really is a priority for me this year! My plan is to hit the pools at least twice a week  after Papa M gets home from work. Pool work (swimming, aqua jogging, aquarobics) was what got me trim and toned for my wedding – I know it works for me so I just need to get back in the habit.

My hostess groove back

Living in a tiny house on the rural fringe of Auckland has been great in some regards but it has been incredibly limiting in others – it’s a bit hard to have people round for dinner when you don’t even have room for a dining table. I’m looking forward to building back up that sense of community with our friends again – I definitely think that one of my love languages is food!

An understanding of my own personal style

Looking at my wardrobe as I pack,  I see a really eclectic range of clothes. I think I’m finally grasping what a) looks good on me post-baby and b) caring less about current fads. I really want to focus on buying timeless pieces that I will love as much five years from now as I do today.

What intangibles are you hoping for this year?

SweetMama Signature

2 thoughts on “My Birthday Wish List…

  1. Sounds like a great way to spend your year of 30 🙂
    I got lots of great vouchers for Christmas and haven’t even used any! I should really try harder to enjoy those spoils! Might have to take myself to the city on one of the Little Mister’s day care days!
    I hear your personal style point. I only just had something click for me the other day. I think I know where I’m going with it now. I hope I can keep it up. Although, I dread winter because I can NEVER figure that out.
    HAPPY 30TH!!!!! You deserve a year of great things! 30 has been my favourite year and I’m actually kind of sad it’s going to end in April! xoxo

  2. OMG I haven’t see the leopard print toms, but as soon as I saw this post I had to search them!! Totally what a gal needs!!

    Happy Belated Birthday!! I love how your wish is not materialist but focus on the important things! I hope you get them all and I hope you had a fabulous birthday!!

    (I found you though the NovelTea Book Club Facebook Page)

Comments are closed.