Getting back on the (healthy) horse: April update

IMG_0790

My first goal is to hit this weight (about 14 kg away), last seen circa 2012

Slowly but surely, I’m beginning to get on my way! I spent much of the earlier part of the year “fluffing around” with no real plan of how I was going to reach my goal. Life was so busy and so much was changing and I had no real sense of how to maintain my self-care as well as look after everyone else – isn’t that the typical “mum life” scenario? After the manic months of February and March, all our massive special occasions were over, we were settled into our new place and I literally had no more excuses. I needed to come up with something that would work for me exercise-wise (my diet is fairly good) and for my family.

Back when I was trying to get in shape for the wedding I was doing aquarobics twice a week and it really worked for me. I know that it can conjure up pictures of retirees slowly ambling through a routine but our instructor drove our mixed-age class hard. Now, with juggling child care and a husband who can’t always guarantee the time he gets home, the class environment doesn’t work for me. But there’s nothing stopping me doing it on my own! I can’t road-run due to old injuries but for the last two weeks, two nights a week, I’ve been slogging up and down the public pool lanes (about 1 km in 30 minutes) as soon as Papa M gets home. Yay for aqua-jogging! Our local pool also has lanes specifically set aside for “Water Walking” so I don’t feel like I’m annoying any swimmers. In the first week I’d already lost 500g, a nice maintainable level of weight loss.

The other thing helping my weight loss has to be my new belated birthday present from my father, a Garmin Vivosmart! This little piece of technology is so fun. Initially I was attracted to it for the ability to get phone notifications on a wristband – I keep my phone away and in silent mode in class while teaching so it’s a very handy way to see if my husband or daycare are ringing or texting me with an urgent message. The reality, though is that the steps counter and the Move! alert (to let you know you’ve been sitting idle for more than an hour) has been very handy. Back when I first lost weight for my wedding, I found Weight Watchers and My Fitness Pal useful methods of actually increasing my awareness of what I was putting in my body – it is SO easy to underestimate. Likewise, I think it can be easy to overestimate the amount of exercise you get in a day. The wristband lets me know at a glance exactly how active I’ve been, and when I need to get my butt out of my chair. The final neat perk is the sleep tracker – it’s really interesting to compare my sleep patterns each night and how awake I am in the morning. It really is my new best friend when it comes to weight loss.

I’m hoping that this is the start of something really positive for me in terms of getting my health and fitness goals on track. I’m going to think positively and say that I’ll be reporting back in June with at least a 5 kg weight loss! If you have any tips for losing weight while balancing a family, I’d love to hear them!

SweetMama Signature

3 thoughts on “Getting back on the (healthy) horse: April update

  1. Good for you! I’d love something that alerts me when I’ve been on my butt too long! I have a fitbit flex which is pretty cool, but I have been a bit slack with it lately. I must start getting back into it again!

  2. Good going M! The first 3 months of the year always full of ocasions and indulgences. Even I’ve found some ground this month. Finally getting back to exercising. I love swimming but its gotten so cold lately. At the moment, I do cross training and Pilates.
    Good luck to you on the journey! Hope you lose 5 kgs by June!

  3. I’m back on the weight loss wagon, and also eating healthy – got some concerning blood test results about my cholesterol. I’m a big MFP fan, and trying to hit the gym three times a week but find it so hard to be motivated in winter.

Comments are closed.