School Holiday Plans

Last holidays I had a big list of things to do, fun plans of how I was going to fill the day with CJ. This holiday break? Well…

  
I got nothing.

Haha that’s not entirely true. I’ve made some plans to catch up with some friends. I’ve booked CJ into the gym crèche for a couple of sessions (and learned that I need to get in early if I want to get the sessions I want) and organized someone to look after him for an entire day so that I can catch up with a lot of personal maintenance stuff. But in terms of bigger plans, epic day trips – I’ve got zip, zero, none.

I’ve been lucky to get an incredible amount of work in the last school term and that we’ve only had a minor blip with changing carers. I know I’m very lucky to have a kid that spent five days last week being looked after by three different friends while mummy worked and totally acted like it was no big deal. At the same time, it’s been a taster of what life will be like returning to full time employment next year and the reality is that regardless of how the job actually looks, it’s going to be a bit of a balancing act. One that will get easier as CJ gets older and more independent, but still a lot to keep across.

And one of the things that’s going to have to give? Always being the planner. I’d rather be a good mum in the moment than the Pinterest mum who has a jar full of fun holiday ideas. I know that some people can do both and work (maybe run a business on the side, always look stunningly put together) and I think that’s great. But I don’t see anything wrong with knowing your limitations and choosing what you value. Say no to mum guilt!

  

