Writing Inspiration: “Teenage Sky” by Rona Adshead

I’m currently working to complete my first novel – whether it is ever published or not is another story, but I want to prove to myself that I can do it! As part of getting my head in the game, I’m reading a lot – especially short texts and poetry – and I want to share some of my cool finds with you here.

IMG_4033

A teenage sky at Yallingup, W.A. (personal photo)

Teenage Sky – Rona Adshead

There is a teenage sky this morning,

Budding from a hesitant horizon

Daubed with lipstick streaks of sunrise

And awkwardly draping the nubile hills

With tangled scarves of mist

*

Youthful day begins, unsure of its shape;

But confidence comes with stronger light

The sky pulls on its sturdy denim blue

Causing an anorexic crescent moon

To waste away in unseen pallor

*

Suddenly a defiant shower

Trips over its own sulky pout

Then, just as quickly, the sun

Begins to poke holes in the pockets

Of the still quietly weeping clouds.

*

Oh, teenage sky, made of mood and moment,

Take this as the morning of your life

Which is a beginning – not finality:

Strength of the noon hour is yet to be

When you will glow in your fulfilment.

I work with teenagers regularly and I think that’s what draws me to this poem. The start of a day in New Zealand, often tempestuous but full of promise, is very much a metaphor for the adolescent experience and vice versa. Beautiful words.

IMG_0835

