2015 in Review

What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?
Had my first kid-free vacation since CJ was born, worked as acting head-of-department for six weeks, separated from M-Daddy, attended a wedding solo… quite a few things, actually!

Did you keep your New Years resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Rather than resolutions, I set goals. Some of them I absolutely smashed, others I’m well on the way to achieving. I’ve got goals for 2016 too and I hope that I’m equally successful.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes. Baby-palooza this year, with the most recent being my friend Greer who gave birth on Christmas morning!

Did anyone close to you die?
Sort of. My great-aunt died just before Christmas. We used to see her a lot when mum was alive, but not so much recently.

IMG_4034

Personal Photo

What countries did you visit?
Australia – it was my first time visiting Perth and now I’m about to head back there!

What would you like to have in 2016 that you lacked in 2015?
More travel, more adventures. 2015 felt like the year that I got my house in order. 2016 feels exciting! Three trips already planned!

What date from 2015 will remain etched upon your memory?
The 8th of August.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Surviving! I kid, I kid. Probably my success at work this year. The substitute teaching I did gave me a really positive reputation amongst the local teaching community with some opportunities for leadership positions that I otherwise would not have had. I definitely think this contributed in part to me gaining a new position at the end of this year that will be way better for CJ and I.

What was your biggest failure?
I’m really struggling to think of one. Originally I thought my marriage, but I really do believe that our separation has been for the best. Maybe failing to complete my novel by the end of the year? I don’t know. There’s definitely been stuff that hasn’t gone the way that I intended but I don’t think of it in terms of failure.

Did you suffer illness or injury?
I actually had a stunningly healthy year, which I put down to the improvements in diet and exercise and adding in supplements to replenish what I lost from having CJ and breast-feeding.

IMG_5977

Personal Photo

What was the best thing you bought?
My new MacBook? Or my gym gear. Honestly, I didn’t buy a lot but those two things have helped me reach my goals.

Where did most of your money go?
The boring, everyday stuff. Or savings. I’ve had to spend a little on smaller clothes that fit. Next question.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My upcoming trip. It will be my first proper holiday rather than long weekend in two years! So glad I made it happen.

What song/album will always remind you of 2015?
Oooooooh that’s a hard one. I thrashed the latest Six60, Ed Sheeran and Taylor Swift albums in my car. My gym playlist? One of those.

Compared to this time last year, are you:
happier or sadder? Happier; much, much happier.
thinner or fatter? Thinner
richer or poorer? Surprisingly, richer

What do you wish you’d done more of?
Travelling and exploring.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying about everyone’s opinion of my marriage ending. Some people have been surprised but no one has been a total asshole about it.

Who did you spend the most time on the phone with?
V – been a total life-saver through everything that has gone on this year. Or Skype with Alice. 

How many one night stands in this last year?
None

What was your favourite TV programme?
I usually allow myself one “must-watch” TV show each week that I block out time for. At the moment, it’s “Call The Midwife”.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate’s a very strong word. People have disappointed me but I wouldn’t say I hate them.

What was the best book(s) you read?
I finally read “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” series and I now understand the hype!

What were your favourite films of this year?
Star Wars – The Force Awakens purely because I’m a fan girl that has waited so long for this to happen. Watching Gone Girl on the plane to Perth. Catching About Time on the TV and thinking about how small moments can change lives forever.

IMG_4540

Personal Photo

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 30, and I did high tea with the girls at my favourite place in the city, went out for dinner and spent the night in a hotel before hitting the day spa the following day. I’ve never staycationed in my own city before and it was marvellous.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2015?
Simplify. Classic, timeless pieces. Less is more.

What kept you sane?
Writing. Writing here, writing on my writing blog, writing my novel. Writing letters that I may never send.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Ryan Reynolds – I know, shock horror, out of all the celeb Ryans, give me Van Wilder any day.

What political issue stirred you the most?
I’m not rapt with the amount of money that the government spent on the flag debate when we have so many other pressing issues as a country.

Who did you miss?
My mum, as always. 

Who was the best new person you met?
They know who they are. Needless to say I love how sometimes people come into your life and all of a sudden you can’t imagine life without them.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2015.
That it’s important to do what makes me happy – that’s why I got inked!

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year
So far away from where you are, I’m standing underneath the stars – Lifehouse

IMG_0835-0

