Three Covers I Like More Than The Originals

I love original music but I think there is also something to be said for the art of a truly well-done cover. Here are three of my favourite covers – I hope you like them too!

Hurt

Original: Nine Inch Nails / Better: Johnny Cash

I actually heard the Johnny Cash version before the NIN version and thought, given his life story, that the song was absolute perfection. Cash’s aged and gravelly voice with his bluesy demeanour gives this song life that I just don’t get from the original. There’s something to be said for being at the age where you can reflect on the experiences of life and this song feels deeper if you look at it from that perspective.

Nothing Compares 2 U

Original: Sinead O’Connor / Better: Chris Cornell

Nothing Compares is one of those songs that seems to be iconic no matter what you grew up listening to – or maybe it’s just if you’re my age. Those opening bars are as familiar as a hug. I’m a big Chris Cornell fan – I remember seeing him in concert circa 2007 with Linkin Park – but I have to admit being surprised when I heard that he had covered the song. I didn’t see the two styles gelling. How wrong was I? This is amazing!

Titanium

Original: David Guetta feat. Sia / Better: Boyce Avenue

The original song is great and I’m not going to lie, I do love the acapella renditions in Pitch Perfect. But Boyce Avenue have to be one of my favourite acoustic cover bands and this has to be a top pick. With a slightly slower pace, the lyrics are clearer and you have more time to really absorb the words. Maybe it’s the English Lit teacher in me but I really love that.

Any covers you love that you think I’ve missed? Hit me with them below in the comments section.

SweetMama Signature

2 thoughts on “Three Covers I Like More Than The Originals

  1. Lovvvve the cover by Chris Cornell. What an awesome version of a great song.
    Cool post! I love good covers, I have a whole playlist of them which I will have to share with you at some point 🙂 Agree with you about the Hurt cover by J Cash as well, his version just has soooo much depth to it.

    • I’d love to see your playlist! And I swear that I could listen to that Chris Cornell one on repeat for hours – amazing.

Comments are closed.