Getting back on the (healthy) horse: The dreaded D-word

If you have been reading for a while, you will know that this year I’m hoping to get my health and fitness back on track on year – it’s not been the easiest journey but I’m getting there!

Diet

So it may come as a bit of a surprise but in this weight loss journey, I’m not dieting at all. I know that some people do Keto, Paleo, Whole 30 and it works for them. And if that’s what makes them happy – great! But in all honesty? I love food. I love deliciously dark and bittersweet chocolatey desserts. I love salt and black pepper chips dipped in basil aioli. I love eating nectarines so juicy that they leak down your chin when you bite into them. I love baking a whole bunch of veggies in the oven to make hearty roast vegetable salads. I love a perfectly cooked steak, crackling on a pork roast and peppermint ice cream (although the last one doesn’t love me so much – damn lactose intolerance).

Food brings me joy, in the taste, in the memories, in the companionship when shared with friends. On my recent trip to Perth, food brought me some fantastic memories! The pizza made for me by C that tasted so delicious after eleven hours of flight and transit, fish & chips (and sneaky Pimms – breaking the liquor ban) on Floreat Beach, delicious conversations over even more delicious drinks and/or meals with friends. This past weekend I drank and ate to my heart’s content at a birthday party. So I guess the question is – without a diet, how am I still losing weight?

To my heart’s content is a big indicator. To my stomach’s content too. One of the biggest changes in my diet has been actually listening to my body and what it wants. Not being concerned about finishing a meal. Paying attention to the amount of food that I’m putting on my plate and questioning whether it’s something that I actually want or whether I’m bored/tired/thirsty instead. I’ll still have that late-night dessert while watching the new X-Files, but I might make myself wait an hour to make sure that I’m actually hungry for it.

The other question I ask is “Is it worth it?”. For me, weight loss really is the simple difference of calories in to calories out. I know roughly how active I have to be to maintain my weight and how much I need to step it up to lose. Sometimes the maths will be out but the opportunity to eat somewhere I’ve always wanted to try, or to hang out with people dear to me is too good to pass up. Is it worth not having the loss or having to up my fitness game for the week? Then hell yes; say yes to the boozy¬†chocolate cake.

I know I could drop the weight a LOT faster by calorie restricting more (currently averaging about 2 kg a month), but that’s just not the lifestyle I’m interested in living. Life is too damn short to not chuck back that cocktail and enjoy that tiramisu – in moderation. Not dieting makes this weight loss sustainable for me and keeping it off long-term is what I’m interested in.

Do you diet?

 

SweetMama Signature

One thought on “Getting back on the (healthy) horse: The dreaded D-word

  1. Exactly what I’m doing too. It works and it stays off if you keep listening to your body. If you restrict yourself those things eventually end up being craved and I go crazy on them. Everything in moderation is my motto. Well done you. Keep up the hard work x

Comments are closed.