Getting back on the (healthy) horse: New Habits

As part of getting my health and fitness back on track, there have been a few things non-diet or fitness related that I have been trying to make habits in order to lead a healthier lifestyle. Now that I’ve actually managed to do them, I feel confident enough about them to share with you!

Tech-free bedroom

In the past I’ve battled chronic insomnia and I know that having technology in the bedroom makes it worse. I’ve not had a television in my room since my very early twenties and it’s a very rare day (and I’m probably desperately ill) when I’m working from my laptop in my room. I do read from the Kindle app on my iPad but the poor old brick doesn’t pick up the wi-fi in my room (farthest from the router) so it’s basically a fancy book. None of this has changed in at least the last six years but…

You know when you break up with someone and you have to separate your stuff? He took our alarm clock. No problem right? I have an alarm on my phone, I’ll just use that. Except that’s not the only thing I use my phone for. Oh, I’ll just check these SnapStories, have a flick through Instagram, oh that’s a great idea for a blog post, oh what’s that email ding? Oh look, A has sent me through two snaps, let’s check those! How about we go read some blog posts in your blog reader… and down and down the rabbit hole I go until two in the morning.

A usual sleep-time for me is between 11 and 12 and I don’t intend on changing that – it works for me. What needed to change was my ability to continue engaging with technology when I should have been sleeping and that’s a heck of a lot easier to do when it isn’t around to engage with. With my first pay this year I bought this beautiful wee alarm clock here and it’s been perfect. No LED lights, no ticking sounds – just a cheerful chirp when it’s time to get up. My phone has been evicted and once it’s on the charger at night, that’s where it stays. Kudos to those of you who have the iron will not to look at your phone once you’ve decided it’s sleep time… I’m not one of those people LOL.

Morning Me-Time

So when do I get to mindlessly fall down the social media black hole? First thing in the morning. I get up, chuck on the kettle and toaster and settle down to scroll through my notifications, read some blogs, fire off some emails and generally flick through my favourite apps and catch up with my favourite people. By 7am I’ve finished my breakfast and it’s time to get the kidlet out of bed so it’s a nice definitive patch of time rather than frittering the day away. If I don’t get the chance for the rest of the day, it’s all good. I feel like I’ve touched base with my online community and I’m happy.

Doing this has totally recharged my batteries. While I’m outgoing, I’m definitely an introvert and this time alone at the start of the day, doing something I enjoy, really puts me in the right headspace for the day. Some days the sleep is more important and the scrolling doesn’t happen and I think that’s a pretty good order of priorities too!

Drink more water

Okay, this is probably a work in progress. On my holiday at the start of the year, I realised that what I thought was terrible premature ageing was actually being supremely tired and dehydrated. Just a few days of rest and drinking heaps of water made me feel and look ten times better. It was a bit of a wakeup call about how I was treating my body and particularly my skin and I’ve been trying to be better about this ever since. I still struggle with keeping hydrated at work (because the worst thing is needing to pee halfway through a class) but I am shooting for 3L a day at the moment, especially on exercise days. Some days that means that I’m chugging down a litre of water before bed, but hey – it helps with the getting up in the morning for my Me-Time LOL.

Any healthy habits you’re pursuing this year?

SweetMama Signature

One thought on “Getting back on the (healthy) horse: New Habits

  1. I need to work on drinking more water too, I know I’ll feel better if I do. Other than that, I’ve started running this year, working up to a 5k later this year, so that’ll be fun 🙂

Comments are closed.