16 Random Things

Time for another brain dump of all my micro-blogging ideas!

  1. I swear I’m learning Spanish by absorption at the moment – we have language tutors in this term and I supervise two Spanish lessons a week. I don’t actually participate in the lessons but the songs that the tutor uses are so damn catchy that I find myself in the the shower going “Blanco, Azul, Verde, Marron, Amarillo es el sol”
  2. Ever since my recent cold, I’ve really struggled to eat breakfast in the morning. At the time it was because I was too busy coughing and trying to clear my airways but now that’s not an issue and I’m not sure what the problem is or how to trick my body back into eating breakfast again.
  3. I’m not sure whether it’s hormones or the fact I’m selling off baby gear or what, but lately I’ve had multiple dreams in which I have two children – CJ and a younger daughter. The mind and the body is a bizarre thing.
  4. Dad/Music Jokes for the win:
  5. I’m pretty sure one of the rewards of parenting is hearing the random stuff that comes out of your mouth every day that really make no sense out of context – “I don’t have a problem with your blanket, but he needs to go home to his bed”, “Bees don’t go to daycare”…
  6. There is something so cathartic about having a good cry, but as adults we often put it off because it’s not professional, or we have to parent or keep it together for any number of reasons. If I feel the tension building up and I know that I need to let it out… Armageddon never fails. I’ll never forget scaring the crap out of my high school boyfriend when he walked into the room to me full-on ugly crying after seeing it for the first time. Like the gasping-for-breath, unable-to-talk crying… poor dude, I’m pretty sure he thought someone had died for real. Two moments kick me right in the guts and never fail to make me tear up – obviously when Liv Tyler’s character says good-bye to her father, but also when the little boy sees Chick on the television and says “Hey mum, that salesman’s on TV” and she says “That man’s not a salesman. That’s your daddy”. Tears, every single time.
  7. On the same note, ridiculously keen to see Me Before You. The trailer caught me on a rough day and triggered the tears as well – it’s such a beautiful novel and if the movie does it justice I think it may become a favourite.
  8. Watching Joseph Naufahu (Khal Moro) on Game of Thrones, it struck me that his Dothraki had a distinctly Samoan flavour – turned out I was totally right!
  9. Truth time – I’ve stopped reading to my son before he goes bed. Initially I stopped reading when I had practically lost my voice during my recent cold, instead giving CJ a cuddle in bed for five or so minutes to help him wind down. And then I realised that was actually what he needed. He reads at daycare and we read at other times around home – he’ll quite often choose to read during his playtime. What he needs, especially when our days are busy, are five minutes in mum’s arms, five minutes to feel heard and to be loved. Bedtimes have been a breeze since we changed it up.
  10. CJ calls our evening talk time a “While”, stemming from the fact that when it started I would say “Mummy will lie down with you, just for a little while” 😂. I love that we have our first family slang!
  11. One of my friends joked that I jinxed myself taking a First Aid course because there’s been two serious incidents in which I’ve needed to use the knowledge since (and it’s been only a couple of months) after years in which I haven’t needed to at all. I prefer to think of it as fate providing the skills I needed even though I’d no idea that I would need them!
  12. English nerd fact: written language was invented independently by the Egyptians, Sumerians, Chinese, and Mayans.
  13. The logistics for getting to my dad’s (NZ) island-based wedding seem more complicated than most other things I’m in the planning stages of at the moment – and that’s saying something! Luckily I’ve got until mid-August to get things sorted.
  14. I haven’t always stood behind everything that Sheryl Sandberg has said (while I appreciate the gist of what she’s talking about in Lean In, I have some reservations) but I’m loving the insightful reflections of hers that I’m seeing around the web lately.
  15. I love thunderstorms – we had a good one a couple of weeks ago and I went to bed with my curtains wide open so I could watch it as I drifted off to sleep. There’s just something so awe-inspiring about the scale of it; I couldn’t even summon up real annoyance when a spectacular fork lightning storm kept me grounded in Perth Airport in 2015.
  16. It’s funny how different people use social media platforms in different ways. Take Instagram for example: brands use it to connect with consumers, famous Instagrammers use it to curate these “perfect lives”, bloggers can use it to connect with readers in a more visual format, and so on. There’s not a right or wrong way to do it. For me, it’s definitely become more of a lazy form of scrapbooking. It’s not a priority for me to sit down and create crafty little scrapbooks but I can take photos of things I want to remember, caption them and then get my hard copy printed at the end of each year. It may not have the perfection of a curated account but everything in there is beautiful to me!

SweetMama Signature

2 thoughts on “16 Random Things

  1. This is such a great post and I LOL’ed for real at the joke! You’re such a great mum and amazing woman. Love this post so much (and agree with the IG comment. if anyone thinks my life is perfect through my photo’s they haven’t seen my crazy hair photo’s! Haha)

    • Oh thank you for the compliment! I don’t try to be exceptional, just the best that I can be with what I have.

Comments are closed.