Random things I’m grateful for, Winter Edition

This is my shout out to the little things – it’s easy to be grateful for the big, obvious things but it’s nice to appreciate the random things too, those small things that make your life just a little bit better.

I’m grateful for… Vitamin D3 tablets. I think it may have been my cousin (a nurse) that told me years ago that Vitamin D3 was best absorbed and most useful for body function. Poor “closet ginger” me (very fair skin, auburn hair) gets low on Vitamin D every winter, and while doctor-prescribed cholcalciferol is cheap, this does the trick so much better. Now if only I could remember to start taking it before I start feeling run down. I need a yearly reminder at the start of May or something.


I’m grateful for… my Me Before You bookmark. It’s just a piece of cardboard that I got in the goodie bag at the screening. But it warms my heart every time I pick up the book I’m reading and see this quote:


I can’t quite define why I love it so much. Maybe it’s the acceptance of beauty in the moment, regardless of the outcome. Maybe it’s about living in and accepting the perfection of a moment while you’re there, rather than only appreciating it in hindsight. All I know is that it’s the best piece of cardboard I currently own.

I’m grateful for… cheap picture frames. I recently spent $12 on picture frames at The Warehouse. CJ had done two pieces of art at daycare that actually worked in really well with his room decor and so I decided to frame them and add them to the art already on his walls. I loved the way they looked but what I was unprepared for was the sheer joy and pride on his face every morning when he sees his picture frames on the top of his dresser. I won’t keep every piece of work that he does, but I’m glad I kept those.

Any random things that you are grateful for?

SweetMama Signature

 

