Totes Inappropes songs of my childhood

Driving home last night, CJ calls out from the back seat “Mummy, I sing to you okay?” and then proceeded to break into Ed Sheeran – “I the cap-in of a sinky boat, an a man carry me home”. It was super cute and I was kind of glad that it wasn’t some of the more questionable lyrics I listen to, but that lead me to thinking of the many “inappropriate” songs I loved growing up. And not just the smash hit of school discos circa 1996:

Alice

2 Become 1 (Spice Girls)

Silly games that you were playing, empty 
Words we both were saying, 
Let’s work it out boy, let’s work it out boy, 
Any deal that we endeavour, 
Boys and girls feel good together 
Take it or leave it, 
Take it or leave it 
Are you as good as I remember baby, get it on, get it on, 
‘Cause tonight is the night when two become one

My mum rolled her eyes at Wannabe… I can’t even imagine what she was thinking when we were dancing around the lounge to this one. Boys and girls feel good together… when they’re hanging out playing touch rugby, right? The song even talks about making love – I’m pretty sure that I hadn’t made the connection between my scientist mum’s explanation of sex and “making love” at that age. Shaking my head.

You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Meatloaf)

On a hot summer night
Would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?
Will he offer me his mouth?
Yes
Will he offer me his teeth?
Yes
Will he offer me his jaws?
Yes
Will he offer me his hunger?
Yes
Again, will he offer me his hunger?
Yes!
And will he starve without me?
Yes!
And does he love me?
Yes
Yes
On a hot summer night
Would you offer your throat to the wolf with the red roses?
Yes
I bet you to say that to all the boys…
Memories of random obsessions with the Heaven & Hell album my parents bought when I was nine. Memories of melodramatically lip-syncing this with childhood friends. I’m still not sure I really understand who the wolf with the red roses is.
Wrong Way (Sublime)
You know what? There’s actually nothing even clean enough for me to feel comfortable putting on the blog… read the lyrics here LOL
I don’t remember exactly how old my sister and I were, but we were hella bored waiting for the start of Round The Bays one year and ended up breaking into a song and dance routine to Wrong Way. What can I say? We were theatre kids.

If You Want It To Be Good Girl (Backstreet Boys)

And if you want to get it done
Babe you gotta get the one
The one who’s got it goin’ on
If you wanna make it last
Gotta know just who to ask
Babe he’s gotta be the best (tonight it’s me)
If you want it to be good girl
Get yourself a bad boy

Memories of singing along with my mum, aunt, cousin and sister on road trips the summer before I turned 13. No memory of actually making the connection as to what “it” was that we were hoping bad boys would make last.

My gosh, the innocence of youth… looking back does give me a lot of laughs at how worldy I thought I was at the time and how naive I actually was. I’m actually looking forward to being appalled at what CJ thinks is cool music a few years from now!

SweetMama Signature

 

4 thoughts on “Totes Inappropes songs of my childhood

  1. Haha my mum was always like. “Do you even know what that means?” when I’d sing along to something inappropriate really loudly!!
    The one I remember most was You Oughta Know by Alanis Morissette …. “Would she go down on you in a theatre?”
    😂

    • Oh my gosh, totally forgot about that one… Yes, we had a few similar conversations in our house – total mum-speak!

  2. OH man, I’ve been really getting back into 90’s and very early 00’s music lately and one really terrible one I can think of is “Sweat (a la la la)” – Inner Circle. I remember really loving the bloodhound gang at the time too hahaha.

    • Oh sh*t, you saying Sweat has also reminded me about “Pony”… Not about horses as it turns out 😜

Comments are closed.